FLORENCE SCHOOL OF REGULATION ENERGY

Policy Advisory Council

Villa La Fonte – Via delle Fontanelle 18 San Domenico di Fiesole

22 May 2015

Programme

09:00 - 09:10	Introduction Jean-Michel Glachant FSR	
Morning:	Gas Grid Adequacy: Preparing for Which Future?	
Chair	Ilaria Conti FSR	
09:10 – 09:30	An Academic Perspective Nico Keyaerts FSR	
09:30 – 09:45	Academic Discussant Christian von Hirschhausen Berlin University of Technology	
09:45 – 10:00	Industry Discussant Christophe Poillion GRTgaz	
10:00 – 10:15	Industry Discussant Francisco de la Flor Enagas	
10:15 – 10:30	Regulatory Panel DG Energy, ACER, NRAs	
10:30 – 11:00	Coffee Break	
11:00 – 12:30	General Discussion	
12:30 – 13:30	Lunch	
Afternoon:	A Conceptual Framework for the Evolution of Regulation of Electricity Transmission System Operation Towards a Decarbonised and Increasingly Integrated Electricity System in the EU	
Chair	Jean-Michel Glachant FSR	
13:30 – 14:00	An Academic Perspective Jean-Michel Glachant, Vincent Rious, Jorge Vasconcelos FSR	
14:00 – 14:10	Academic Discussant Ignacio Pérez-Arriaga Comillas University - MIT	
14:10 - 14:20	Industry Discussant Giuseppe Montesano Enel	
14:20 – 14:50	Regulatory Panel DG Energy, ACER, NRAs	
14:50 – 15:20	Coffee Break	
15:20 – 16:20	General Discussion	
16:20 – 16:30	Concluding Remarks Jean-Michel Glachant FSR	

PARTICIPANTS

Carlos Batlle	Professor, Comillas University-MIT, Spain
Camilla Berg	General Counsel, Nord Pool Spot AS, Norway
Walter Boltz	Executive Director, E-Control, Austria
Ilaria Conti	Research Associate, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Jacques de Jong	Senior Fellow, Clingendael International Energy Programme, the Netherlands
Marie-Pierre Fauconnier	Chairwoman Board of Directors, CREG, Belgium
Hugo Gil	Research Fellow, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Annegret Groebel	Head of Department, BNetzA, Germany
Leigh Hancher	Of Counsel, Allen & Overy LLP, the Netherlands
Dennis Hesseling	Head of the Gas Department, ACER, Slovenia
Tomasz Jerzyniak	Policy Officer, European Commission, Belgium
Adrian Lewis	European Policy Advisor, NationalGrid, United Kingdom
Pia Løvengreen Alessi	Research Associate, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Leonardo Meeus	Part-time Professor, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy; and Associate Professor, Vlerick Business School, Belgium
Eduardo Moreda Diaz	Deputy Manager Regulatory Affairs, Endesa, Spain
Pippo Ranci	Principal Advisor and Part-time Professor, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Vincent Ringeissen	Deputy Director Finance Division, RTE, France
Małgorzata Sadowska	Research Fellow, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Fabienne Salaun	Economist, EDF, France
Jörg Spicker	Head of Market Operations, Swissgrid Ag, Switzerland
Valeria Termini	Commissioner, Autorità per l'Energia Elettrica il Gas e il Sistema Idrico, Italy
Thomas Tillwicks	Senior Advisor, Swissgrid Ag, Switzerland
Jean Verseille	Director European Affairs, RTE, France
Jean-Arnold Vinois	Honorary Director, European Commission, Belgium
Christoph von dem Bussche	Managing Director, Gascade Gastransport GmbH, Germany
Nils-Henrik von der Fehr	Professor, University of Oslo, Norway

Francisco de la Flor Jean-Michel Glachant	Director of Regulation, Enagas SA, Spain Director, FSR/RSCAS/EUI; and Holder, Loyola de Palacio Chair/ RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Nico Keyaerts	Research Fellow, FSR/RSCAS/EUI, Italy
Giuseppe Montesano	Head of European Regulation and Scenarios, Enel SpA, Italy
Ignacio Perez-Arriaga	Professor, Comillas University-MIT, Spain
Christophe Poillion	Vice President, GRTgaz, France
Vincent Rious	Vice President Regulation, Microeconomix, France
Jorge Vasconcelos	Chairman, NEWES, New Energy Solutions, Portugal
Christian von Hirschhausen	Professor, Berlin University of Technology, Germany